NI Music Prize 2018

Northern Ireland Music Prize 2018 shortlist announced

by / September 11, 2018

The shortlist for 2018’s Northern Ireland Music Prize has just been announced. The expanded awards now include Best Single, Best Live Act and Oh Yeah Contender award for best newcomer on top of the traditional Album of the Year.

With the Mandela Hall finally closing its doors, this year’s event takes place at Belfast’s Ulster Hall, with live performances to be announced alongside the awards. Thursday 15th November is the date to mark in your calendars, check the ticket link below.

The awards will be decided by a selection of 80 judges from the music industry, with Best Single opening to a public vote.

Album of the Year

And So I Watch You From Afar – The Endless Shimmering

Ash – Islands

Bicep – Bicep

Brand New Friend – Seatbelts for Aeroplanes

Ciaran Lavery – Sweet Decay

Girls Names – Stains on Silence

Hannah Peel – Mary Casio: Journey To Cassiopeia

Malojian – Let Your Weirdness Carry You Home

Robocobra Quartet – Plays Hard To Get

Ryan Vail – Distorted Shadows

Snow Patrol – Wildness

The Wood Burning Savages – Stability

Best Single

Arvo Party – Liberté

Ash – Buzzkill

Brand New Friend – Girl

Cherym – Take It Back

Hot Cops – Decay

Joshua Burnside – A Man of High Renown

Kitt Philippa – Human

Robocobra Quartet – You’ll Wade

ROE – Hey Thomas

Rosborough – Burn Blue

Snow Patrol – Life on Earth

The Wood Burning Savages – I Don’t Know Why I Do It To Myself

Oh Yeah Contender Award


Hand Models


Rebekah Fitch


Best Live Act

And So I Watch You From Afar

Brand New Friend

Robocobra Quartet

Ryan Vail

The Wood Burning Savages


NI Music Prize Tickets

Leave a Comment ⁞

One Comment

  1. […] always the tip of the iceberg will be the Northern Ireland Music Prize on Thursday 15th, now in Belfast’s Ulster Hall. Now expanded into four categories, album of […]

Comments are closed.